#dissentingdigital

Wigan Council ran an event today, for their self-appointed #digileaders to tell a whole load of other #digital people what #digital means, and how to win awards for being #digital.

I couldn’t make #DestinationDigital. It was being held on a Friday and I had to work. Yes, I work in tech, so probably I come under the banner of #digital somewhere, although I have no idea what they mean by it. And apparently, neither do they.

I write this from Leigh Hackspace, one of the few Hackerspaces in the whole country that is in a small town as opposed to a big town or city. I started it, along with some friends, about 2 years ago, with £10 in a PayPal account. We built it, through membership subscriptions and manual labour, into a thriving Hackspace, one of the most active in the North West (MadLab probably get 1st prize there), and a great place to be. I work from there most days.

But that’s not the problem. This is the problem:

Tomorrow my council are running another event, a ‘Community Digital Day’. It’s another hashtag-fest, with a few people being encouraged to go online (all good) and some people being shown coding for half an hour. There will be, I’m told, a circus of people who wear LEDs. #digital indeed.

Trouble is — we’re running an event tomorrow too. It’s a low cost Arduino Workshop. It’s really real digital and it’s happening in our town. We teach people of any age and ability how to set up and make things with an Arduino Nano microcontroller. It takes a full day to get them up and running, and to really get into it. They learn basic ‘breadboard’ electronics, some C++ programming, and more importantly they learn transferable tech skills — like how to solve problems, how to debug, and how to share the things they’ve learned. We don’t need a hashtag for it. We don’t want grant funding for it. But we did hope that the council wouldn’t try to undermine it.